Just: Gluten Free Facts

What is Gluten?

1
Gluten is a name for proteins found in wheat, barley and rye. Arguably, oats also contain gluten so unless stated ‘gluten free’ on the label, you should avoid foods with oats in them if you are on a gluten free diet.

What products contain Gluten?

2
Bakery products, pasta, breakfast cereals, breadcrumbs, beers and lagers, cakes, pizza and other products made with flour are sources of gluten. But read all labels carefully because some processed foods like soups, sauces, sausages, burgers or ready meals may also contain gluten.
3

Some personal care products contain gluten! Always read the product label.

What does it mean if a product is labelled ‘Gluten free’?

4

Only foods containing 20ppm (20mg/kg) of gluten or less can be labelled ‘gluten free’. Even naturally gluten free products may contain small amount of gluten. 20ppm is an amount of gluten which has been proved by research not to be toxic to people with Coeliac disease.

5
A gluten free diet, if well balanced, will give you energy, relieve fatigue, improve your mood and help with digestion problems. When on a gluten free diet, remember to eat a lot of naturally gluten free products like fruit, veg, fish, plain meat, rice or nuts.

What are the 14 allergens?

6

Annex II of the EU Food Information for Consumers Regulation No.1169/2011 lists ingredients that must always be labelled in pre-packed and non-prepacked foods. They are known as 14 allergens. The list includes:

  • Cereals containing gluten, namely: wheat (such as spelt and Khorasan wheat), rye, barley, oats
  • Crustaceans for example prawns, crabs, lobster, crayfish
  • Eggs
  • Fish
  • Peanuts
  • Soybeans
  • Milk
  • Nuts; namely almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, pecan nuts, Brazil nuts, pistachio nuts, macadamia (or Queensland) nuts

  • Celery (including celeriac)

  • Mustard

  • Sesame

  • Sulphur dioxide/sulphites, where added and at a level above 10mg/kg in the finished product.
  • Lupin which includes lupin seeds and flour and can be found in types of bread, pastries and pasta

  • Molluscs like clams, mussels, whelks, oysters, snails and squid